Nebraska Regional Leaders

Decoding Dyslexia Nebraska Planning Council on Dyslexia (State Chapter) undertakes advocacy, parent support, community awareness and systemic change activities on behalf of persons with dyslexia and their families. These activities contribute to a coordinated support and family directed comprehensive system that includes needed community services, individualized supports and other forms of assistance that promote literacy, evidence based methods to address dyslexia, community awareness and inclusion in all aspects of community life. The Regional Councils are affiliated with the State Chapter. The state is divided into six geographical areas called Regions, each having a voluntary regional group. Membership on the regional groups is open to any interested person living in the region, including persons with dyslexia, family members, reading specialists, tutors, speech-language pathologists, teachers and advocates. Operating under regionally approved by-laws, the groups elect officers annually. The majority of the groups meet monthly to handle needed business.

Each Regional Group receives directive’s from the State Chapter for use in their areas to support local activities similar to those of the State Chapter. These include public education/awareness efforts; trainings for individuals, families and service providers; and local information on activities surrounding Nebraska on dyslexia. The regional groups also assist the State Chapter and its committee in carrying out activities such as grant writing, fundraising, hosting public forums and advocacy efforts.

For more information on the Regional Council in your area, locate your county and contact person below.

Region I Counties:

Banner, Box Butte, Cheyenne, Dawes, Deuel, Garden, Kimball, Morrill, Scottsbluff, Sheridan, Sioux

Region II Counties:

Arthur, Chase, Dawson, Dundy, Frontier, Gosper, Grant, Hayes, Hitchcock, Hooker, Keith, Lincoln, Logan, McPherson, Perkins, Red Willow, Thomas

Region III Counties:

Adams, Blaine, Buffalo, Clay, Custer, Franklin, Furnas, Garfield, Greeley, Hall, Hamilton, Harlan, Howard, Kearney, Loup, Merrick, Nuckolls, Phelps, Sherman, Valley, Webster, Wheeler

Region IV Counties:

Antelope, Boone, Boyd, Brown, Burt, Cedar, Cherry, Colfax, Cuming, Dakota, Dixon, Holt, Keya Paha, Knox, Madison, Nance, Pierce, Platte, Rock, Stanton, Thurston, Wayne

Region V Counties:

Butler, Fillmore, Gage, Jefferson, Johnson, Lancaster, Nemaha, Otoe, Pawnee, Polk, Richardson, Saline, Saunders, Seward, Thayer, York

Region V Lead Representative
Darlene Merz

Lancaster County

is covered by The Nebraska Dyslexia Association, please contact them if you live in this area, they would be more than willing to assist you!

Region VI Counties:

Cass, Dodge, Douglas, Sarpy, Washington

Decoding Dyslexia Nebraska Founder and Director Clarice Jackson